Sunny Afternoon leads the 2015 Olivier Award winners

Sunny Afternoon leads the 2015 Olivier Award winners

Updated On: May 1, 2018
  • Related Shows

    After a fantastic year of West End theatre, the 2015 Olivier Awards with MasterCard were handed out last night in a star-studded ceremony at the Royal Opera House in Covent Garden.
    The Kinks musical Sunny Afternoon was the big winner, taking home four awards including Best New Musical, Best Actor for John Dagleish, and Best Actor in a Supporting Role in a Musical for George Maguire. Singer/songwriter and original Kinks frontman Ray Davies won the Autograph Sound Award for Outstanding Achievement in Music.
    The Young Vic also won four awards; three of which went to West End transfer A View From The Bridge that won Best Revival, Best Director for Ivo Van Hove, and Best Actor for Mark Strong.
    Mike Bartlett
    won the Best New Play award for King Charles III, as well as for Outstanding Achievement in an Affiliate Theatre for Bull.
    Beautiful - The Carole King Musical collected two awards for its leading ladies. Katie Brayben won Best Actress in a Musical, while Lorna Want won Best Actress in a Supporting Role in a Musical.
    Memphis The Musical also left with a pair of Oliviers, with Sergio Trujillo winning Best Theatre Choreographer and Gareth Owen winning for Sound Design.
    The Donmar Warehouse's production of City Of Angels also left with two Olivier Awards, winning Best Musical Revival and Best Lighting Design for Howard Harrison.
    Penelope Wilton was named Best Actress for her performance in Taken At Midnight, while Angela Lansbury won her first Olivier Award - Best Actress in a Supporting Role - for he role in Blithe Spirit.
    Nathaniel Parker won the Best Actor in a Supporting Role Award for his performance in the Royal Shakespeare Company's Wolf Hall and Bring Up The Bodies, which also saw Christopher Oram win for Best Costume Design.
    The Play That Goes Wrong won Best New Comedy, while La Soirée won Best Entertainment & Family. Wicked won the This Morning Audience Award for the second time, while designer Es Devlin won for Best Set Design for the second year in a row for The Nether.
    The ceremony saw incredible performances by Beautiful – The Carole King Musical, Sunny Afternoon, Memphis The Musical, Miss Saigon, Here Lies Love, City Of Angels, The Gershwins’ Porgy And Bess and Cats, which saw Nicole Scherzinger give a striking performance of "Memory".
    The show's finale was capped by a special performance by Special Award winner Kevin Spacey together with Memphis The Musical's Beverley Knight in a one-off rendition of "Bridge Over Troubled Water".
    See below for the full list of the 2015 Olivier Award winners. Congratulations to all!

    Best Revival Of A Play
    -    A View From The Bridge (Young Vic and Wyndham's Theatre)
    Virgin Atlantic Best New Play
    -    King Charles III (Almeida Theatre & Wyndham's Theatre)
    Best New Comedy
    -    The Play That Goes Wrong (Duchess Theatre)
    Best Actor
    -    Mark Strong (A View From The Bridge)
    Best Actress
    -    Penelope Wilton (Taken At Midnight)
    Best Actor in a Supporting Role
    -    Nathaniel Parker (Wolf Hall and Bring Up The Bodies)
    Best Actress in a Supporting Role
    -    Angela Lansbury (Blithe Spirit)
    Best Director
    -    Ivo Van Hove (A View From The Bridge)
    Mastercard Best New Musical

    -    Sunny Afternoon (Hampstead Theatre & Harold Pinter Theatre)
    Magic Radio Best Musical Revival
    -    City Of Angels (Donmar Warehouse)
    Best Actor in a Musical
    -    John Dagleish (Sunny Afternoon)
    Best Actress in a Musical
    -    Katie Brayben (Beautiful - The Carole King Musical)
    Best Actor In A Supporting Role In A Musical
    -    George Maguire (Sunny Afternoon)
    Best Actress In A Supporting Role In A Musical
    -    Lorna Want (Beautiful - The Carole King Musical)
    ITV This Morning Audience Award
    -    Wicked
    Best Costume Design

    -    Christopher Oram (Wolf Hall and Bring Up The Bodies)
    White Light Award for Best Lighting Design

    -    Howard Harrison (City Of Angels)
    Best Sound Design

    -    Gareth Owen (Memphis The Musical)
    XL Video Award fo Best Set Design
    -    Es Devlin (The Nether)
    Best Entertainment And Family
    -    La Soiree
    Best New Dance Production
    -    32 Rue Vandenbranden (Barbican)
    -    Mats Ek's Juliet And Romeo (Royal Swedish Ballet at Sadler's Wells)
    Outstanding Achievement in Dance
    -    Crystal Pite (for her choreography in the productions of The Associates, A Picture Of You Falling, The Tempest Replica and Polaris at Sadler's Wells)
    Best New Opera Production
    -    The Mastersingers Of Nuremburg (London Coliseum)
    Outstanding Achievement in Opera
    -    Richard Jones (for his direction of The Girl Of The Golden West, The Mastersingers Of Nuremberg and Rodelinda at London Coliseum)
    Outstanding Achievement in Affiliate Theatre
    -    Bull (The Maria at Young Vic)
    Best Theatre Choreographer
    -    Sergio Trujillo (Memphis the Musical)
    Autograph Sound Award for Outstanding Achievement in Music
    -    Ray Davies (Sunny Afternoon)
    Special Award 2015
    -    Kevin Spacey, for his incredible contribution to British theatre during his tenure as Artistic Director of The Old Vic Theatre
    -    Sylvie Guillem, in recognition of her staggering and spectacular 39-year dance career